Reflections of an unemployed Wednesday

I got my first job at the age of 16. I was a check-out chick at the local supermarket. I worked with my best friend, having wandered into the store after school one day, talking to the manager, and getting hired right off. I have never been unemployed since then, and now I’m 32.

*Pause while Panther gets a calculator*

That is quite literally, half my life. I’ve looked for jobs before, but always from a position of being employed.

Which might explain why I am so freaking bad at being unemployed. I cleaned out the grout in our shower today. This is not a legitimate hobby! 

But it does make me think that I am among the very, very privileged unemployed. Firstly, with the Engineer being all engineery, we in no way face a fiscal crisis. We can survive on his paycheque – and thrive, really, I’m all frugal from the post-graduate student days. I’ll share some tips I learnt from those days in an upcoming post. And I’m not long-term unemployed, which by all accounts is a vicious cycle that devours souls. And this is the first time I’ve been in this position! And, especially for my American readers, in Australia you don’t lose access to health care,  and we have a minimum wage here that is above the poverty level (just. But still). So when I get a job (fingers crossed) it will be livable. I really, really, am in a very privileged position.

With a very clean shower. Oh and I walked for an hour and a half today. And yesterday. And Monday. On top of a jog or two. I. Need. New. Hobbies. If nothing else, I’m out of showers to clean.

If anyone has tips on how to stay active and busy, I’d love to hear them! Or you know, showers that need a clean…..

 

3 thoughts on “Reflections of an unemployed Wednesday

    • Hi Lisa – yeah, it’s not tied to our employment at all; nor our are unemployment benefits or welfare. Our government encourages people to take out private health care to relieve pressure on the public system, which a lot of people do because they want to protect our medicare system!

      That being said, the health outcomes in our Indigenous Australians, especially those living in the northern states, are absolutely appalling and a national shame. Third world diseases, kids dying of toothaches, life expectancy over 20 years lower than non-Indigenous Australians and so on.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Flourish when you should be falling | I'll Select Your Criteria

Leave a Reply

